the she series: sister sequel

I knew my sister Jenn could be lured, by promises of weird internet photos and potential to become my favorite sister, to finally send me her answers for a post. After all, she supported this crazy idea from the start, and helped me think of the questions.

So this photo is for you, Jenn:

545fb8f1cadc34d1e4dda7887c830f8f

If I could have a sibling yin to my yang, it’d be my sister Jenn. We were basically born and raised to be BFFs: we’re two years apart, shared bunkbeds until high school and apartments in our twenties. But while my life choices have been marriage, kids and a house; Jenn chose to live abroad, a baby tortoise as her roommate, and adventures that make for a pretty good Instagram account.

I love that I do not wish for her life, and mine probably seems a horror to her–yet we can appreciate that each other are happiest where we’re at. (I even love the vegan recipes she sends me as I’m eating a burger.)

toy.licious_2_8_2017_17_4_5_328.jpg

Parenthood and Family

Motherhood sounds like a complete disaster. Not in general, but for me personally.

As for family structure, I don’t think there is much of a traditional family structure anymore. I mean, statistically half of all homes are not consisting of what is the “traditional” family structure, so I don’t think that really means anything. You can have a shitty household with a “traditional” mother/father/child and you can have an amazing household being a single parent, or two moms and a child, or two dads and a mom – whatever floats your boat, just don’t be a shitty person.

Equality and Education

I’m going to be technical about feminism here, I think you need to be since the word draws so many emotions. The definition (from dictionary.com – an obviously technical source. LOL) is the following:

  1. (a) advocating social, political, legal, and economic rights for women equal to those of men.
  2. (n) an advocate of such rights.

By definition, yes, I am indeed a feminist. Who wouldn’t be?

Have I ever been unfairly treated as a women? Of course. I live in India, a country where it’s still legal to rape your wife. Luckily for me I don’t have to personally face that type of treatment but it’s very apparent where women stand within the culture. India may be an extreme and more obvious example but I think even through my years living in the US I was often treated differently as a female. Riding a motorcycle, traveling alone, discussing cars, studying computer science. If only I could count the number of times people told me “You’ll want kids when you’re older.” Do you think that was ever said to my brother? Unfair treatment may be a strong term to use for those situations but to change a big problem you need to address the everyday nuances. We are the sum of our choices.

I do think it’s important for every person to have a college education. Not so much for the education part but for the learning how to cope with life, sticking through things, becoming more self-aware and tolerant of others. That is my answer for women in the western world. If we’re talking about women from developing nations, I believe it’s incredibly important for these women, but for different reasons. These countries are going through so many changes that educating the women–housewife or not–is one of the best ways to impact development. Women are the subconscious backbone of a society and when the women are educated many other societal and cultural issues tend to balance out.

Fears and Celebrities

I could name at least half dozen physical, typical female, non-validated insecurities. But really I am most worried I will die unexpectedly and without making the impact on the world that I was capable of. I think it’s difficult to realize that we as women carry all the power within ourselves.

And if I had to pick an amazing women with a great life, I’d say Angelina Jolie–post Billy Bob Thorton and pre Brad Pitt.

got something to say? share away!

