the magic of christmas shopping

I know, Christmas shopping takes away from the true meaning of Christmas and all that. But I would argue slightly that some shopping is good. I think it’s a fun part of the holidays to find gifts for people. And to see all the decorations.

When we moved to New York I didn’t bring any holiday decorations. For our first Christmas my mom sent a box with the boys stockings and a mini nativity. And we got crafty making pom pom garland strings, felt ornaments and a duct tape star. Every year we put those things up I love how simple yet awesome our decorations are. But I also remember how I used to have a basement where I could store lots of decorations, and how much fun it was to get them all out. Then sometimes I start thinking we could use a tree skirt, and I get caught up in all sorts of other festive things I could buy but don’t really need, and definitely don’t have a place to store during the other 11 months of the year.

So once again New York keeps my clutter in check.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t fake shop for things–some of which wouldn’t take up too much room…

fridayshop-12.11

Mr Santa Claus Pillow Cover | Fir & Canella Berry Holiday Wreath | Village Houses Advent Calendar | Woolrich Tree Skirt | Christmas Tree Topper | Nordic Snowflake Dishes | Chunky Knit Blanket 

Also, did you know this is a thing for trees? Thank you, Etsy.

got something to say? share away!

