two cent tuesday: favorite life hacks

Sometimes I learn a little something that makes my life just a little better. I know, there’s life hacks all over the internet, but it still seems like things come up here and there that amaze me. Here are some of my favorites:

  • Mascara: When I got married my friend did my makeup for me. Everything she did was basically amazing, but one tip I still use today… I brush my mascara down the tops of my eyelashes before I do the normal brush up.
  • Eye makeup (mine is always smudgy out of the shower): I switched to using face lotion for this. One less product to buy, it works great, and I’m going to put it on my face anyway.
  • Long-lasting lipstick: Face lotion also works pretty good, but I think chapstick works best. Plus you don’t run the risk of getting lotion in your mouth. It honestly still amazes me every time how easy it gets any lipstick off.
  • Sticky jar labels: I love reusing jars for food, but the labels can be such a pain. The easiest way I’ve found is to take the paper off with water, then use nail polish remover for the sticky residue. It works wonders!
  • Vinegar in laundry: We had a horrible old washer and dryer in our last apartment building that never seemed to clean our towels well. Then I learned the secret of adding a little vinegar in the wash. Fresher, and softer too!
  • Grapes: After washing I put them in the fridge inside a half-full bowl of water. It keeps the grapes plump and delicious longer. (Thanks to my SIL Kelly for sharing this life tip years ago, it still amazes Tyler.)
  • Lettuce: I always rinse then store in a ziploc bag or tupperwear container to keep it fresh longer. I’ve tried this with a few other veggies and it works for them too–similar to the grapes, occasionally I’ll add a tiny bit of water.
  • Falling zippers: I have this one pair of jeans that the fly kept falling down. Google found me the perfect solution: put a key ring through the end of the zipper, then around the button.

What life hacks are your favorite? I want to learn some more!

And for a laugh.

 

2 thoughts on “two cent tuesday: favorite life hacks

  1. I love vinegar in laundry! It helps with our hard water so much. That and Lemishine have mostly eliminated our hard water problems.

    Also, using contact solution to help out when my mascara dries out.

    I’m trying to think of other life hacks…I made a play pen out of cardboard and duct tape the other day and it made me think of you.

    1. Cardboard for the win! Also, I forgot that mascara trick, I only learned it a few months ago and wondered how I could not have known my whole life.

got something to say? share away!

