working on it

afe96e1c495314630cb0d83533ba5497-1

Do you ever set goals that you never accomplish? My solution to this has always been to not really set concrete goals and then not really ever fail at them. The biggest winning argument for this is that I never have to tell myself that I can’t have dessert.

Then I became a parent that realized what her children learn now might actually affect them in the future. (You know, versus when they were three and I figured they’d forget it all anyway.) So back in January we did charts with the boys with the goal to improve at school. I won’t say it was a magical transformation with just a sheet of paper–nor did they accomplish their ultimate goals with 100% accuracy. But I do think it helped them pay closer attention to what is important, and we’ve done them a few times since.

Last month we tried something slightly different, backed by the idea of the quote above. Make a goal, anything at all, to better yourself. And since I’m a big fan of “practice what you preach” or “lead by example,” Tyler and I made our own goals too. Don’t worry, it has nothing to do with limiting my food intake, although that may have been easier.

I chose to revisit my long-standing desire to learn Spanish. Something I took classes for in middle school, tried again in college, and started to review last year. Mason pointed out that I didn’t think of a reward/punishment for completing or not completing my goal–but I think it’s probably enough just worrying that I’ll fail, making me the worst parent example ever.

So here’s to two weeks in, and an expansive vocabulary if I ever want to tell people I am a man, woman or child that eats apples or drinks milk. Thanks little Duolingo owl!

PS: If anyone would like, here is a printable version of the chart I made. It’s really not that amazing I realize, but it seems to get the job done for us. (I add check-in dates for each week to make sure we aren’t forgetting to progress.)

monthly_goal

To print the image above, click to open in a new screen and then Save As to your computer. Or you can open a PDF here.

3 thoughts on “working on it

  1. Cute little check-in sheet. I hate that kids make us have to do things we don’t really want to do. I couldn’t get in to Duolingo, but maybe I’ll give it another shot.

got something to say? share away!

