my list of not resolutions

Last January I made my first ever New Year’s resolution. And, probably needless to say, I didn’t keep it. Which, from everything I see and hear, isn’t too far off from most people’s resolutions. And the #1 reason why I never made one before. That, and the inability for me to understand why you can’t just make a resolution mid-year. But for whatever strange idea that floated into my head that New Year’s seemed a good time to try (and fail) at something new.

This past week I’ve thought about that one resolution/year-long creative idea that I never finished, and I wondered for a brief minute if I should resolution myself again. After all, “try, try again,” right?

Then I thought, you know what, I know myself. I will probably never keep a New Year’s resolution, just like I never really care to diet. This does not mean my year is without a to-do list. (Like, cough cough, maybe this.) So instead of thinking of things I will vow to do, and not, it seemed so much easier to make a list of things I want to stop doing. I mean, theoretically, if doing something takes work and energy, not doing something should be a piece of cake. Who’s with me on this logic?

So, here you have it, my list of not resolutions for 2015:

  • I am not going to complain about work. Yes, it’s not my favorite job, but it’s better than that time I didn’t have one.
  • I am not going to worry about money. More would make life more travel-filled, but less still pays the rent.
  • I am not going to blame. My days will always be shorter than I wish, sleep is over too fast, there always seems to be something else I need to do…c’est la vie.
  • I am not going to be jealous. Even if the grass is greener.
  • I am not going to worry about failing. I’m just going to accept everything as a try/succeed or a try/lesson learned.

——-

And…this has nothing to do with resolutions – but my friend tried the first real cat cafe in the city and I was so jealous of her non-existent allergies. And then we talked about how they should have had cat macarons, which led me to this picture ↓, which led me to this site.

cat macarons

2 thoughts on “my list of not resolutions

got something to say? share away!

