your mom said so

You know that saying, “Your mom doesn’t live here.” It’s usually followed by some direction to clean up after yourself and stop being gross.

I don’t really understand where that phrase came from. I mean, my apartment has a mom who does live here, and she doesn’t want to clean up the mess either. In fact, I started this wonderful idea where I leave notes for the boys. It started with Saturday mornings, because they always wake up (way too early for Saturday pleasantries) and want to play video games. So I started leaving notes outside their door, expressly stating no video games until the list of to-do’s was checked off.

I also make them lists when we pack for trips. That way they find everything, and I just double-check the underwear/sock counts and pack away.

This year both Mason and Milo became latchkey kids. And guess what? I can leave notes on the table to greet them. Yay!

Do you ever wonder what your kids will think of their childhood when they become adults? Because sometimes I wonder on a scale of 1-crazy, what they’ll rate my notes. And the robots I occasionally draw to make them forget there are chores listed.

P.S. If there is a pair of dirty socks on the floor neither child will claim, who should be the one to pick them up?

Also, this thing made out of socks.

got something to say? share away!

