don’t be a turkey

cat eating dinner

I’m going to start this by proclaiming something: I like all holidays. There, I said it. I don’t have a favorite and I don’t hate any of them. I’m not sure why, they just all seem exciting in their own way. Costumes and sugar rushes on Halloween, having Lucky Charms with green milk on St. Patrick’s Day, overeating mashed potatoes on Thanksgiving… Oh wait, maybe I do know why: I love food.

So lets skip to the good part of Thanksgiving: the food. This year is our first attempt to host Thanksgiving at our apartment, which means the big bird is all up to us. And when I say “us” I mean Tyler. Which must be why I came home today to a brand new mid-size cooler sitting in our entry way. A cooler that has literally no place to be stored after Turkey Day is over. Because “us” decided the only possible way to cook a turkey was to brine it first. In a cooler. On our fire escape. (So it better be good is all I’m saying.)

On a side [dish] note, I’m going to attempt green bean casserole in a cast iron skillet (with fresh ingredients). Considering I have no patience for stirring or cooking things on any temperature besides high, it may or may not be a disaster. Wish me luck!

P.S. Have you ever made these before? Less waste and tasty – sounds like a no-brainer pre-dinner snack.

P.S.S. This dog is my new favorite, and I’m very thankful I found him.

got something to say? share away!

