road trip

Photo

In the last four days I went from New York to Maine to New Hampshire to Rhode Island to New York (with a drive-through of Boston and Connecticut, of course). It was freeeezing cold, and a few things were closed for the season/holiday, but it was a lot of fun still. It’s just great to get around and see different areas. Being to Boston a few times I think I grouped all those not-newyork-cities to be about the same. And they weren’t (not that I dislike Boston at all).

Portland had a crap-ton of antique places. Had I not been traveling with an adult boy and two half-adult boys, I probably could have spent the entire trip checking them out. Portsmouth made me re-think my judgment of small towns – I really liked it there. And I definetly want to take a trip back to Providence some time. We stopped there for dinner, and I found my new favorite obsession restaurant for their coal-fired wings alone. They were so good… I could have eaten them all night. I seriously considered ordering a bunch to drive back home and salvage for meals to come. I very much plan to find a recipe online to try making them (and perhaps talking a certain someone into cooking them outside on the grill).

And I am heavily thankful to Nintendo DS. You may rot brains, but you sure know how to keep two boys from fighting in the back seat.

One thought on “road trip

got something to say? share away!

