sometimes i miss my subway stop

Il_fullxfull

There are days I wish my train commute were longer, just so I could have more reading time. The other day I actually got off and felt so confused, until I realized I had missed my stop and was consequently getting off somewhere I normally don’t.

Last few things I’ve read:

The Big Short. Which made me realize I knew nothing about the stock market crash, the economy, or what goes on in the stock market in general. Now I’m on a mission to be smarter. It’s helped that I have a job working with a few finance clients (and a nice finance friend who is ready to answer any of my other questions and point me to more books). The book was great. I thought it was going to be boring and hard to understand, but I [mostly] understood it. And when it was over I actually wanted to keep reading, something that rarely happens to me with this type of non-fiction.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s. First I read about Truman Capote. Then I read about In Cold Blood. Then I decided to read Breakfast at Tiffany’s (and the other short stories in the book). It amazes me that one person could write such different types of books, and I thought comparing them would prove exciting. In Cold Blood was currently checked out of the library, so I ended up checking out Catch-22 and The Book Thief instead.

Catch-22. I went through a big phase of government/world/cynical books (Brave New World, Animal Farm, 1984, Cat’s Cradle), and then it was suggested I read this one. At first it completely annoyed me because of the way it was written. Now that I’m 3/4 of the way through I’ve come to realize the true sarcastic nature of the book and how well it involves you in the story. Everyone seems crazy and no one seems crazy at all, and instead of just reading about the characters feeling crazy I actually feel crazy trying to keep up. It is brilliant.

(the picture is from etsy)

 

One thought on “sometimes i miss my subway stop

got something to say? share away!

