here’s what i think

It’s a little of this and that and speaking in French…

Last week I finished reading Pour Your Heart Into It, by Howard Schultz & Dori Jones Yang. I think it might be the first non-fiction book I’ve actually read cover to cover. I was completely intrigued by the convictions Howard Schultz wrote about. From his childhood background to the way he began thinking about coffee, he really seems to look at things from such a great perspective. I was curious throughout the book to go into a Starbucks and see what has stayed the same and what has changed since the early years, especially considering the book was published in 1997.

Today I finished Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley. Apparently I missed out in high school when everyone else was reading it, but I made up for it last week. So many ideas packed into that book. I decided the most intriguing part was when John has the discussion with the world controller and they go back and forth about why or why not God is necessary to life. I couldn’t really decide if I was ready for it to end when it did, but I guess there wasn’t much more that could have been said.

And last night I watched a French film, Certified Copy. I actually don’t remember how I came across this movie, but it was on my list and I decided to cross it off. It was interesting because the film was done in French, Italian and English – so some parts were subtitled and some parts weren’t. It was mostly about one couple, and sometimes they would speak in French, her native tongue, and sometimes in English, his native tongue. I decided how awesome it would be to argue with someone in a different language like that, I could yell in one language and they could yell in another but we’d both completely understand what was being said. Besides that, the filming shots were done so well. Between that and figuring out why the characters spoke in specific languages when they did was my favorite part.

I absolutely always enjoy French films, although I haven’t put my finger on exactly why yet.

Rodney-smith-photography110

These photographs by Rodney Smith I simply can’t stop staring at.

got something to say? share away!

