be thankful. show thankful.

“As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.” ~John Fitzgerald Kennedy

I will admit, I stole that quote from a Facebook status. But it’s a quote, and quotes have their way of getting around, and now it’s mine to share. It seemed too perfect not to.

I found this picture from Network Osaka via ISO50 (one of my longest followed, and most favorite, blogs) and it just struck me as perfect for Thanksgiving. Maybe just the fact that this year, since I’m far away from most of my family, I’m going to enjoy a day filled with a big random mix of friends and never-before-met people (one of whom is from Mexico and celebrating his first Thanksgiving!)

4970060350_d31f172762_o

Either way, I figure Thanksgiving shouldn’t be only about me saying how much I love my family and am thankful I have friends to share food with. Instead I’d like to share causes I think have great messages, that I have recently taken part of, and that I think could use some extra holiday cheer.

Do-good-help-others

Great design + world hugging messages = Help Ink. Help Ink collaborates with artists, posting a new design every week, of which sales are used to help donate to various charities. You can find out more about buying, illustrating or donating here.

Donorschooseorg

I found out about Donors Choose through my son’s school (or was it that time Stephen Colbert sang Friday on Jimmy Fallon and led me through QR code to a secret online video)? Either way, it’s a great idea. Teachers submit things they need, you view the projects online and then choose who and how much to donate. Reading through the things some teachers submit is so heartbreaking to me, which is hard to do to my normal heart of stone, so beware as you browse.

Brain_cancer_ribbon

This would be the lesser known cause to most people, but closest to me currently. My sister-in-law’s mother was recently diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor. Not only is this effecting those who I love, I can never think about what they are feeling without remebering how I felt. She is undergoing radiation and chemotherapy, and the family is in need of financial help.

I remember how thankful I am every time that I remember all the little things (and big things) that have been done for my family and I. I can’t help but want to pay it forward to every good cause I come across. The Salvation Army bells always get me. I could never begin to actually explain how indebted I feel to every single bit of help I have and had received. For some reason just knowing that someone cares about something that is so important to you is all that seems to matter sometimes. Knowing you’re not fighting your cause alone.

So Happy Thankful Day to everyone. Keep the good karma rolling.

p.s. the Network Osaka picture was also raising money for Haiti. Perfect fit after all.

got something to say? share away!

