pictures and words

I know nothing about cameras. Now that I am currently in a commercial production class and I hear our director talk about which camera he wants to use I realize I know even less than I thought. But for some reason I am so fascinated by how different they shoot. Frames per second, digital or reel…I can’t seem to get enough of video shorts using specific cameras to help capture moods. I also can’t look at a commercial or a video without analyzing the number of shots it has or how the music and set design play into the overall feel.

Since I tend to stand on the other side of the spectrum, where words are more comfortable forms of expression, I can only hope that one day I will write well enough to create the emotion of those shorts. Then one day someone can read my work and say: I know nothing about the craft of writing….
got something to say? share away!

