babies

So, the other day I went to the pediatrician’s office to pay a bill. On the way out I ended up in the elevator with a mom and her new baby. Here was my thought process:

Oh, that little baby is SO tiny. I remember how my boys used to be tiny like that at one point. It’s kind of cute. Oh…I’m so glad I don’t have a baby. Ew. They cry all night and are so much work. It’s nice that Mason and Milo are older and they can do so much by themselves.

Yep. I’m a baby-hater.

Ok, so I’m not really a hater. I think they are really small and sweet, and I definitely loved my own babies. And I haven’t always thought this way. There was a day, way back before my own personal encounter, that I had no ill will towards them. I’d like to say that I just learned my lesson from my Mason and Milo – but I actually had at one point planned on having more.

But now here I am. I see pregnant women and all I can think is how happy I am that I’m not pregnant. I see babies and it makes me cringe thinking of all the time they need to be held, and the hours they wake up in the night. I even had a moment while at a playground the other day with Milo. This little boy was climbing on the bench and all I could think was, “Gross, he smells like pee. I’m so glad my kids don’t wear diapers.” And I never can understand people when they say they are “baby hungry.”

I so just love my boys and their ages and that they are much lower maintenance. This morning while I was in the shower Mason made himself a sunny side up egg. I’ve never let him cook anything on the stove before because I’ve always been worried he’d burn himself, and honestly I don’t really think he should still. But the fact that he did it, and actually cooked himself an edible breakfast – it was awesome.

So, Happy Mother’s Day to me! Instead of babies I have great boys who give me hugs, tell me happy mother’s day multiple times, compliment me on my outfits, and hide presents in their rooms to surprise me with for this day.

5 thoughts on “babies

  1. I really love babies, I babysit my niece every chance I get. BUT I definitely think there is a reason babies grow up. You can only have something so dependent on you for so long. When you have babies it's hard to even have your own life!

  2. I am so glad I'm not the only one!But, my family was all together this weekend, and I met my 4 month old niece for the first time. I have to admit, I fell in love with her. I really don't like newborn babies.

  3. It's good to hear that I'm not the only "baby hater" around. I like my kids more and more the older they get. Why did I decide to have another? I have a husband who is baby hungry!

got something to say? share away!

